Business plan

tecBRIDGE Names Winners of 20th Annual Business Plan Competition

Local professionals and students gathered at the Kirby FM Center in Wilkes-Barre for the 20th of tecBRIDGEand Annual business plan competition. The April 21 event celebrated NEPA innovators with divisions for high schoolers, college students, and start-up entrepreneurs. The winning teams shared $25,000 in cash prizes and over $100,000 in in-kind services.

The evening began with a cocktail and the vote for the Wild Card Award. Finalists presented their presentations and attendees voted for their favorites using “tecBUCKS”.

The awards ceremony opened with an introduction by Michael G. Stanton, emcee and market manager at Bold Gold Media. Then, Alex Brunelle and Ted Brunelle, co-chairs of the event and winners of the very first business plan competition, welcomed the public.

The following winners were recognized at the ceremony:

Business Plan Competition Collegiate Division Prize
All of Belgium – Billy Berry and Toon De Schepper, Wilkes University

tecBRIDGE Educational Partner of the Year Award
Mark Leffler, King’s College (retired)

Business Plan Competition Non-College Prize
Showcase Daily – David Yeager and David Erlich

Business Plan Competition High School Division Prize
Fistula Stimulator – Jacob Marinock and Kaitlyn Marley, Hazleton Area Academy of Sciences

McNally Mentor of the Year Award
Gerry O’Donnell

Big Ideas Essay Contest
Perla Villegas, Hazleton Area Academy of Sciences

Wild Card Winner
Ranek Technologies

Smit Webster Cup
Wilkes University

tecBRIDGE is a regional economic development organization that promotes entrepreneurship, innovation and the knowledge economy in NEPA. Over the past 20 years, more than 700 students and 200 aspiring entrepreneurs have entered the business plan competition. To learn more and get involved, you can visit their website and follow them on social media.

Source link